Recognition Matters

Nurses are the backbone of the healthcare system and UAMS takes great pride in recognizing nursing staff. We have multiple recognition programs within UAMS and the Center of Nursing Excellence supports nominations of UAMS nursing staff to several local, state and regional recognition programs.

Through the support of the Center of Nursing Excellence, UAMS nursing recognition programs include:


  • BEE
  • Outstanding Area of the Month


  • DAISY Nurse Leader


  • Certified Nurses Day
  • Professional Nursing Awards:
    • Betty Casali Transformational Leadership
    • Advancement of Nursing Practice
    • Excellence in Nursing Education
    • Outstanding Community Service

Recognizing the legacy and service of nurses is also important to UAMS. The Mary Helen Forrest Nursing Legacy Award is an annual award given to a registered nurse who has served 20+ years of consecutive service at UAMS, in the profession of nursing and meets many specific qualities that have impacted the nursing profession to achieve a positive outcome.

The Center for Nursing Excellence also established Nurse Remembrance to recognize deceased UAMS nurses and nursing students.

The Center for Nursing Excellence also showcases UAMS nursing in advertisements through multiple media outlets such as the Arkansas State Board of Nursing journal, Arkansas Nurses’ Association, Arkansas Democrat Gazette, Arkansas Times, the UAMS website and social media.